Sunday, January 19, 2014

Wire back and I'm thrilled...in SUCH a good mood :)

Okay, anyone who's been through this journey knows it is (and I assume it is) filled with emotional ups and downs. Progress leads to positivity, stagnancy and time leads to frustration. At the moment I am just oozing in positivity over having my wire back. I'm so excited for the impending progress I can barely contain myself. Just so you're all aware, there is no real progress yet. I mean, obviously, I just got the wire back yesterday. All I feel is soreness right now, but I know things will really start moving now. I was told one of my gaps is already inching closed on its own and I feel a bit more space between two of my crowded front teeth, which is fantastic. I had felt it before though, so it's not a really new thing. I just can't wait till there's enough progress that I can start posting pictures. I know for sure by now I'm not as self-conscious about it. I even thought when they put the wire back yesterday that I'd have to go through adjusting all over again, but not so much. The wire in front of the gaps make them look a lot less gross and I don't even have to go through the thinking I look gross because the wire is back stage. Probably because I know it will only make things better. I also feel that now since they removed the other teeth, the wire is closer to my teeth, so I'm not getting any scrapping on the sides of my mouth, so no need for wax :). The wire is also not pushing my lips out as much or making me speak funny. I could even eat dinner last night without a problem. And since I've had the clear rubber bands on for 3 months now, I'm less paranoid about staining them (because it's not as bad or easy to stain them as I thought) and I'm less paranoid about eating. This lack of the usual discomfort and more confidence is really helping me out. I'm so excited for progress and charting it, I really cannot contain myself. If I see real progress by the spring/summer, I'll probably have a really great and positive summer, which I'm excited for. I may not be completely confident smiling with braces, but maybe I will like smiling more with straighter teeth :). The only reason I think I could end up being frustrated is, if in a year my teeth look perfectly straight, I'll probably get really impatient knowing I'll have to wear braces for another year anyway. But hopefully if one year goes by quickly, the next year will as well. Even though it's only been 3 months, I'm getting so used to them that except when they're tightened, or when I'm eating certain foods, I barely even notice them. I don't even have much of a problem meeting new people with them. Some barely notice, and even if they do, hey, I'm improving myself. I may be late in the game, but I'm improving, and when they're off, they're off for good and no one will ever know I had them and some won't even remember this little blip in my life. The only reason I will is because it changed my life and something I was so painfully self-conscious of. The idea of smiling and laughing without covering my mouth is such a satisfying thought, I can't wait. It will be one less thing to think about. AND I can start wearing lipstick/lipgloss without being nervous about drawing attention to my mouth!!! :D Especially since I like my lips well enough and wouldn't have a problem drawing attention to them otherwise. I'm so excited I can't even put it into words the right way. And there are things I want to do after it all ends I think. I would like to get my teeth professionally whitened, because hey, what's straight teeth without having them nice and white. If I get them whitened soon after, I'm going to want to go to tons of parties just to be around people and smile. And then maybe after that I'll find a way to fix my torn earlobe (which happened when I was super young) and can finally wear earrings. Straight, white teeth, lipgloss and earrings? I'll feel like a million bucks. And maybe, just maybe, it will be all the more sweeter knowing I got myself there by myself and for myself. Maybe my parents did me a favor ;)

Good day for now guys!! :)

No comments:

Post a Comment