October 24, 2013
So here I am creating a multiple entry introduction to my process, and I got my top braces on this past Monday, October 21st. I decided on the clear brackets on top, and I’m probably going to get regular on the bottom because they said my teeth are too crowded for the clear on the bottom. I guess that’s fine. At least the top set won’t be too too noticeable. It’s still definitely noticeable though, but I’d rather not go through the dreaded lisp brought on by lingual braces. I know people have said it goes away, but I’ve seen too many people with other hardware that still have speech impediments even after a year. I’d rather not risk it. I talk too much anyway. So, a week after they put in my spacers, I got the top braces. The spacers hurt a lot. It hurt when the orthodontist put them in, but after that it felt fine. I ate alright that night, just paranoid about having them fall out since I was told this could happen. But oh my goodness, when I woke up the next morning?? My teeth hurt soooo much. I couldn’t chew on anything. And when I tried to floss later on that night? I almost died. I had to take a pain killer just from flossing. It wore off after two days, but it doesn’t make me excited to get the bottom spacers.
The braces experience was different than I thought. It didn’t hurt and the brackets don’t look *that* bad, and they don’t tear at the sides of my mouth or anything. My stomach sank when she put in the wire. The brackets themselves are so unnoticeable, but add a metal wire and no matter how thin, you’re going to notice. However, after a few sessions in front of the mirror, I sort of got used to it. The braces really don’t look that much worse than my regular gross teeth, so why sweat it? I’m pretty sure it’s that “adult braces stigma.” I don’t even know what people think about adults in braces, and I don’t think I want to know. I know bad teeth are a sign of poverty so people probably thought I was a trailer park person, which is totally not the case. And most people want to know, “Why didn’t you get braces in high school or middle school?”…you know, when it’s normal. But who cares?? If you want to build your confidence, you can do it whenever you want. It’s never too late. And you can do it whatever way you see fit, unless it involves hurting another person.
My experience so far has been alright. No severe pain; I’m just horrified of eating. I feel as if any food I eat will break a bracket or my wire and that means more appointments and a longer treatment period. I already have an estimated 2.5 years, I don’t need this to last any longer!! I’m going to miss eating comfortably soo much, especially since I love eating! I secretly keep telling people I’m only estimated for 2 years because I’m hoping maybe my teeth will hear it and move faster. My friends and family have been supportive. My brother wants them too but can’t afford them right now, but I will fully support him when he gets it done. Thankfully no one at work has made any bad comments, which is what I was worried about since I work in a sort of catty office for a law office. If someone said or is saying something, I haven’t heard about it, and I hope I never do. I mean it’s only been 3 days at work with them, but overall no one is bothering me and that makes me feel sooo much more comfortable. I really want to start looking for a new job, but I know I can’t just yet because my teeth in braces and crooked is just too much. I really don’t think anyone would hire me as I am now…not yet.
I think out of everyone though, my biggest supporter is my boyfriend Aaron. We’ve been living together for a year now, since I left my house during Sandy. It’s been a pretty smooth ride and we firmly intend to marry each other. Maybe that’s why he is so easy going about the whole thing. We’re stuck with each other forever, so why worry about a couple of years? But he hasn’t made one nasty comment, has made sure I feel comfortable, and wouldn’t stop staring at me until I stopped feeling awkward around him. He doesn’t think I look horrible, he’ll always look at me with love, and he’s proud that I’m doing something I want so badly for myself. With a guy like him, who could be worried about all of this? At least I have firm support on all the right sides.
My next appointment is November 19th for my bottom spacers, and then November 25th for my bottom braces. It looks like I won’t be enjoying Thanksgiving dinner this year . And one of my favorite holidays too. Oh well, just another thing to add to the list of things I can’t wait to do when I get my braces off! I’ll start a list in the next post and maybe I’ll keep adding to it throughout this project. See you guys later!
PS: I will put up pics eventually, because you can’t see the progress until you see how bad it is >_>
No comments:
Post a Comment