Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Bottom brackets and the fun begins

Holy cow, the bottom brackets caused a complete and utter backtrack in progress. I feel absolutely, positively disgusting. I hate them. I thought the bottom would be easier, but no. They are so much more painful, so obvious, they cause my lower lip to protrude in a disgusting way, and I have a speech impediment. And both sets of teeth look so disgustingly crooked that I don't think it would have mattered if I picked clear brackets or metal ones. I have so much pain while eating because the brackets constantly scrape my inner lower lip. I hate them. I really hope this ends up being worth it because right now my self-image is in the crapper. I feel like a geeky high school kid again. And the extractions happen on December 18th. I can only imagine how I'll feel being exactly as I am now but with missing teeth like a yee-ho. I'm sick just thinking about it. I really hope I didn't make the wrong decision, especially about these extractions. I hope it's all worth it in the end because now it's too late to change my mind. To think life is so short and I worried about crooked teeth and now who knows what could happen? Also, what happens if I get this new job? What am I gonna start with gross gappy mouth? Ughhhhhh bad day...bad day =/

I hope I have a brighter, happier post next time I post...

Sunday, November 24, 2013

Long Delayed Interview Post

So I had my interview last Wednesday and I think it went quite well. When I got in there I didn't even think about my braces. I think I'm too used to them now. I barely realize they are there and I'm about as self-conscious about them as my crooked teeth in general so it wasn't so bad. I concentrated on answering the questions to the best of my ability and show how able for the job I was. One of the women said she was very impressed with me, and for the first time ever every person I interviewed with responded to my thank you letters after the interview. I never usually get responses so not only was this hopeful, it also solidified my desire to work there because it's the kind of environment I want to be in with the kind of mannerly and professional people I want to work with. Plus the benefits are good for me and they have a great work/life balance which I greatly appreciate. I'm hoping to hear an answer back soon and hopefully it will be good news.

My best advice for an interview with braces would be advice for any interview. Remain confident, don't be shy, and make sure to showcast your abilities and your interest in the company. That's the best you can do. Be polite, ask questions, and always send a thank you. They'll love you and overlook any "flaw" you see in yourself, including being an adult with braces.

Tomorrow I get my bottom brackets and I'll then post about them. I'll probably start posting pics when I see some sort of progress. And I sure hope my mouth doesn't hurt too much since Thanksgiving is this Thursday. I hope you all have a happy holiday! :)

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Updates!

Hello All! Unfortunately I don't really have any mouth updates except that random teeth will hurt..randomly. I don't see any movement or anything as of yet, but it's gonna be a long journey so what else is new? I have the appointment for my spacers next Tuesday and then the week after that the bottom brackets are on.

So what is this update I speak of? I have a job interview next Wednesday!!! I'm so excited and it came so out of the blue. I had applied to a job over a month ago, got called to do a video interview (which is horribly awkward and I totally phailed at) and got the "I'm sorry to inform you that you didn't get the job" letter a week or so after. But surprisingly enough I got a call from an unknown number yesterday, and apparently it was the same place calling back because the person they originally picked didn't work out. How often does that really happen?? Now I'm sure I'm not the only person they are looking at, but I am excited I got a call back and I was told I was called back because I had seemed to be a really strong candidate. (really? even with that horrible webcam interview???) Well shocked as I am, I am also super excited. Trying to remain positive but also not get my hopes up too high. I don't know how well I'm doing at that because I was so excited all day at the thought of leaving my current job behind forever, and pave the way for a real career in higher ed that I've been wanting for so long. But there are still issues...I'm nervous interviewing with my braces first of all, and second of all, while I have most of the requirements, I do not have one...it's a "preferred" requirement, so I'm hoping maybe they'll let it slide if I excel in all other areas. I'm going to study up as much as I can because I am so excited and hopeful that I may get this job. I will also post all information when it's done and let you know any tips I figure out on interviewing with braces on. See you guys!

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Tick Tock

Well now I have taken a really long time to post another update. I'm definitely going to promise that I'll post as much as possible in a given month, but so far I have nothing really to report. I'm getting used to the braces for sure, but now I'm becoming anxious about the bottom brackets. They will be traditional metal, so what if that's when I start looking noticeable or looking stupid? And I'm also growing impatient with the lack of progress...I mean it's been what, two, three weeks already?? (I know, I'm being ridiculous). I also know that I won't see much progress until my four teeth are removed, which is both horrifying and exciting. I really want to see a vast improvement, but I know with missing teeth it will definitely be a "it has to get worse before it gets better" situation, and I really, REALLY hate those. But I think once a full year has passed I will probably make the most upbeat and excited post because I know there will definitely be progress by then, and I'm so excited to see how far I've come by then. I'd also like to have another job by then so I hope somewhere along the way I'll make an "interviewing with braces" post and hopefully again only good results will come. I'm trying hard to be as upbeat as possible, and I'm just glad I have so many supportive people by my side.

I'm also getting way better with food and so as long as it's not a food that can stain my ligs, I can eat whatever I want. I still have an anxiety attack when eating red sauce though, and I don't think I've had a cup of coffee since Sunday, but I refuse to drink it without a straw and make my mouth all stained. I'm going to be as mature about this as possible, because I know when it's all over, I'm going to eat a big, hard, hero sandwich (maybe with a dark sauce or dressing), a large cup of coffee, and twix for dessert. I'll celebrate like crazy, and that makes it so much more worth it. It WILL be worth it in the end, no matter how hard the journey...I just have to keep telling myself that! :)